Gamasutra is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
arrowPress Releases

If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:

Elan Awards Announce Student Nominees

Elan Awards Announce Student Nominees

January 23, 2008 | By Jill Duffy

The Producers of the Canadian Awards for the Electronic and Animated Arts have announced the Final Nominees for its second annual Elan Awards. The awards include a number of student categories, which were dominated by games and short films from Vancouver Film School.

This year's awards show will be hosted by Seth MacFarlane of Family Guy fame at the Centre in Vancouver for the Performing Arts on February 15.

The complete list of student category final nominees is:

Student Animated or Motion Graphic Production of the Year
Legend of Boruta, Emily Carr Institute, Bartosz Nowakowski
Swing, Vancouver Film School, Estaban Azuela
Turntale, Emily Carr Institute, Kora Kosicka
Duelity, Vancouver Film School, Marcos Ceravolo, Ryan Uhrich

Student Game of the Year
Bloom, Vancouver Film School, Boring Games; Project Manager: Adrian Audet
Chamelio, Vancouver Film School, Chad Sehn, Dave Malmberg, Jefferey Chang, Kayo Wildman
Foamzilla, Vancouver Film School Johan Eickmeyer, Mark Barazzuol
Seas of Europa, Vancouver Film School, Todd Agnello, David Bowring, Diego Rodriguez, and Ryan Stancl

Best Original Sound Design/Musical Score for an Animated Production or Game
Le Building, Vancouver Film School Doug Woods
Climber, Vancouver Film School Jessica Lemes da Silva
Snowman, Vancouver Film School Steve Bigras
Hatched, The Art Institute of Vancouver Kevin Webb

Best Student Art Direction: Game Production
Hydro, School of Interactive Art and Technology (SIAT) SFU, Yohei Shimomae, Scott Ko, Darrell Yeo
Introspect, The Art Institute of Vancouver, Team Leader- Mitchell Lagran
Patchwork Playgrounds, Vancouver Film School, Jimmy Steorts,
Sean Bosshardt, Brian Chong, Tom Munro
Seas of Europa, Vancouver Film School, Todd Agnello, David Bowring, Diego Rodriguez, Ryan Stancl

Best Student Art Direction: Animated Production
8, Emily Carr Institute Jeff Simpson
A Modelling Reel, Vancouver Film School, Julianna Kolakis
Manso Sinistra, Emily Carr Institute, Kate Lee

In the professional categories, the strong runners were Bioware and Microsoft Game's Mass Effect, which received eight nominations, and Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed, which received five nominations.

Related Jobs

E-Line Media
E-Line Media — Phoenix, Arizona, United States

Creative Director
Question — Remote, California, United States

Senior Gameplay Engineer (Unreal Engine, Work from Home)
Question — Remote, California, United States

Senior Network Engineer (Unreal Engine, Work from Home)
Remedy Entertainment
Remedy Entertainment — Espoo, Finland

Senior Programmer

Loading Comments

loader image