Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
October 15, 2018
arrowPress Releases
  • Editor-In-Chief:
    Kris Graft
  • Editor:
    Alex Wawro
  • Contributors:
    Chris Kerr
    Alissa McAloon
    Emma Kidwell
    Bryant Francis
    Katherine Cross
  • Advertising:
    Libby Kruse

If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:

2002 Independent Games Festival Winners Announced

March 22, 2002 | By

March 22, 2002 | By
    Post A Comment
More: Console/PC

The IGF handed out six awards to five different games, for a total of $21,000 in awards.

The $15,000 Seumas McNally Grand Prize for Independent Game of the Year was awarded to New York-based DreamingMedia, for its hallucinatory puzzle game, Bad Milk, which made use live action video and strange swirling montages. DreamingMedia is really just two developers, brothers Ted and Mick Skolnick, who spent a year developing the game in their spare time.

Here's a rundown of all the 2002 IGF winners:

Seumas McNally Grand Prize
Bad Milk by DreamingMedia (Award: $15,000)

Innovation in Game Design
Insaniquarium by Flying Bear Entertainment ($1000)

Innovation in Visual Arts
Banja Taiyo by Team cHmAn ($1000)

Innovation in Audio
Bad Milk by DreamingMedia ($1000)

Technical Excellence
Ace of Angels by Flying Rock Enterprises ($1000)

Audience Award
Kung Fu Chess by Shizmoo ($1000)

The IGF is produced by the Gama Network, which also publishes Gamasutra.

Related Jobs

Airship Syndicate
Airship Syndicate — Austin, Texas, United States

Senior Programmer
Digital Extremes Ltd.
Digital Extremes Ltd. — London, Ontario, Canada

Senior Lighting Artist
Remedy Entertainment
Remedy Entertainment — Espoo, Finland

Gameplay Designer
Remedy Entertainment
Remedy Entertainment — Espoo, Finland

Senior Environment Artist

Loading Comments

loader image